Surrey Rugby
Surrey Rugby Facebook link Surrey Rugby Twitter link Surrey Rugby Instagram link Surrey Rugby Linkedin link

U21 Competition Format and Rules


Surrey U21 Cup - 2016-2017 - Semi-Finals



Old Reigatian


Battersea Ironsides
Old Caterhamians



Reeds Weybridge
Sutton & Epsom





Effingham & Leatherhead
Old Walcountians


The finals are to be played on Easter Monday, 17th April at Dorking RFC with 3 finals at midday and the Cup and Plate at 2.15pm.

The cup will be a new one to be called the John Douglas Cup, presented by Chris Kelly, RFU Junior Vice President, in honour of John who was such a great supporter of Mini and Junior and the bringing on of young players into the senior game.


History of the Surrey Under 21 Cup

In the Christmas holiday of 2005 3 clubs, Old Reigatian, Dorking and Sutton & Epsom, played a series of Under 21 matches as clubs began to realise that with the success and growth of Junior Rugby there were many players, who had come through the Junior ranks, wanting to play for their clubs against the old rivals and new university mates. Such was the enthusiasm from the players that these 3 clubs and Effingham & Leatherhead decided to start a Cup competition in 2006/07. Played over the Christmas break with the final 2 games taking place simultaneously at Old Reigatians, ORs won the inaugural Cup. The following year the same 4 clubs competed with Sutton & Epsom winning. In 2009/10 the entrants expanded to 12 clubs and in time the Plate, Shield and Bowl trophies were introduced so that all teams had the opportunity to play competitive rugby through the season.This growth has continued to this year where we had 23 sides enter.

Such has been the success of the competition there are now 4 trophy levels to offer competitive rugby to the clubs through the season. Several clubs today have the bulk of their squads based around players who started out at Under 21 level as well as using this as a method of recruiting new players through the university connections of their existing players.

Now in our 11th season, the benefits of providing an extra level of competitive rugby at this period of transition to senior rugby have been plenty and much praise goes to Surrey Rugby for their total support while managing the RFU Under 20 and 23 level competitions.


Past Winners

2006/07 – Old Reigatian RFC
2007/08 – Sutton & Epsom RFC
2008/09 – Sutton & Epsom RFC
2009/10 – Dorking RFC
2010/11 – Richmond RFC
2011/12 – Chipstead RFC
2012/13 – Richmond RFC
2013/14 – Cobham RFC
2014/15 – Cobham RFC
2015/16 – Cobham RFC