Surrey Rugby
Surrey Rugby Facebook link Surrey Rugby Twitter link Surrey Rugby Instagram link Surrey Rugby Linkedin link

Schools from across England and Wales can look forward to participating in official Welcome Ceremonies later this year, which will include the formal presentation of official tournament caps and Rugby World Cup 2015 participation medals.

The schools were chosen following an application process, led by leading independent charity Youth Sport Trust, which was open to all schools in England and Wales. With over 100 applications, the standard was very high resulting in a competitive judging process, which was carried out by tournament organisers England Rugby 2015, the Youth Sport Trust and the RFU.

The successful schools include a mixture of state and private schools with both primary and secondary age groups involved. With schools selected from all around England and Wales, the tournament reach continues to broaden with people across the UK joining together to celebrate rugby in its biggest year.

The successful schools are as follows:

Westdene Primary School from Brighton will welcome Japan in Brighton
The Maynard School from Exeter will welcome Australia in Bath
Chestnuts Primary School from Bletchley, Milton Keynes will welcome Samoa in Brighton
St Aubyn’s School from South Woodford, Essex, will welcome Romania in London
Eastbourne College will welcome South Africa in Eastbourne
The Queen’s Church of England Primary School, Richmond, will welcome Italy in London
Trinity School from Croydon will welcome France in London
Longcroft School from Beverley, East Yorkshire, will welcome England in London
Ysgol Dyffryn Ogwen from Bethesda, Gwynedd in Wales, will welcome Canada in Swansea
Bishop's Cleeve Primary Academy from Cheltenham will welcome Tonga in Cheltenham
Queen Elizabeth’s School from Wimborne Minster, Dorset, will welcome USA in Portsmouth
Thurstable School from Tiptree, Essex, will welcome Fiji in London
St Brendan’s Sixth Form College from Bristol, will welcome Georgia in Bristol
St Mary’s Preparatory and Choir School from Reigate will welcome Wales in London
Isbourne Valley School from Gloucestershire will welcome Scotland in Gloucester
Hawthorn Primary School from Pontypridd Wales, will welcome Uruguay in Cardiff
Chase Bridge Primary School from Twickenham will welcome Namibia in London
St Angela’s Ursuline School from Forest Gate, London, will welcome New Zealand in London
Alderman’s Green Primary School from Coventry will welcome Ireland in Burton upon Trent
Haileybury School from Hertford will welcome Argentina in Hertford
Article taken from the Official Rugby World Cup website.
To read the full article, go to