Surrey Rugby
Surrey Rugby Facebook link Surrey Rugby Twitter link Surrey Rugby Instagram link Surrey Rugby Linkedin link

Sussex President's 26 pts v Surrey President's XV 20 pts

A busy weekend of rugby for Surrey began when the day before, they opened their County Championship programme and also honoured a commitment to Wimbledon RFC, by bringing a Presidents team to play them (9th May 2015).
On the Sunday for this fixture (10th May 2015), Surrey’s third major game in two days, an entirely different President's XV took the field at Pulborough RFC, to tackle their Sussex counterparts.
Sussex began in far better fettle and built up a huge 23-3 half time lead, but gradually Surrey’s troops took control as they set about reducing the interval deficit. In the last quarter had it not been for a mix of staunch Sussex defence and a slight lack of composure at critical times, then Surrey would almost certainly have won the game.

As the visitors hammered away at the Sussex line, the home side defended valiantly and clung on for a narrow victory.

Surrey Scorers: Tries: Marcus Bailey, Andy Blackmore & Rizzie

1 Conversion & 1 Penalty: Brian Collins

Surrey Presidents XV

15. Anthony Penny (Effingham & Leatherhead RFC)

14. Rizzie (Battersea Ironsides RFC)

13. Andy Blackmore (Old Glynonians RFC)

12. Tom Breen (Battersea Ironsides RFC)

11. Alex Sadler (Warlingham RFC)

10. Brian Collins (Effingham & Leatherhead RFC)

9. Liam Mills (Battersea Ironsides RFC)

1. James Withers (Battersea Ironsides RFC)

2. Marcus Bailey CAPTAIN (Battersea Ironsides RFC)

3. Dan Anscombe (Battersea Ironsides RFC)

4. Tapuwa Chabata (Egham Holloweigans RFC)

5. Tom Hipsey (Old Whitgiftians RFC)

6. Neal McGowan (Battersea Ironsides RFC)

7. Jonathan Kirwan (Battersea Ironsides RFC)

8. Craig Starling (Old Wimbledonians RFC)


16. Luke Raynor (Old Walcountians RFC)

17. Ian Dodge (Battersea Ironsides RFC)

18. Joe Henderson (Old Walcountians RFC)

19. Les Todd (Old Whitgiftians RFC)